Wednesday, September 19, 2007

zakat is the third pillar of islam

Zakat is the third pillar of Islam. The Quran mentions zakat eighty-two times, along with prayers=salat to emphasize the importance of it. The Zakat means growth, blessings and increase in good purification. It is called zakat because wealth grows through the blessings of giving it and prayer of those who receive it. Zakat also purifies its giver?s sins and extols him by testifying to the genuineness of his faith. Every Muslim who possesses a zakat payable amount (Nisab) for one lunar year has to pay Zakat (2.5% of Nisab). Through this program The Zakat Foundation of America, is privileged to plays the role of being a bridge between givers and receivers.

Please review our page on Zakat Ul-Fitr and remember it is compulsory for all Muslims to pay this zakat before the end of Ramadan.

The Zakat Foundation is proud to serve as your information resource for all your Zakat Related Needs. If the answer to your questions is not found here please contact us and we will be glad to help you.

What is Zakat?
Who has to pay Zakat?
Who is supposed to receive Zakat?
Zakat Related Issues
Zakat Q&A
Zakat Calculator
Donate Now!

Read our 2007 Ramadan
Newsletter Online

Donate Online Donate By Phone/Mail Donate Your Car

Zakat Foundation Reaches out to Darfur
Reconstructing Schools in Afghanistan
Pakistan floods Left over a Million Homeless
The Zakat Foundation Saves Lives
Home | About Us | Zakat Center | Newsroom | Programs | Get Involved | Campaigns | Multimedia | Contact Us | Site Map
©Zakat Foundation, Tax ID: 36-4476244, Tax Exempt

No comments: